Jennings County

Dearborn County

Jennings County was organized in 1816 and was named after Indiana’s first Governor, Jonathan Jennings. The earliest settlers were drawn to Jennings County for its fertile farmland and scenic beauty that were a result of the Muscatatuck River and its many tributaries. Present day Vernon, the county seat of Jennings County, was for many years was the only town in Indiana with a Mayor.

North Vernon developed into the County’s commercial center due to the junction of three railroads through the city. Another notable feature of Jennings County is the Muscatatuck Urban Training Center (MUTC). Consisting of 68 buildings on 800 acres, into the MUTC is currently used to train civilian first responders, Foreign Service Institute personnel, joint civilian/military response operations, and military urban warfare. The center offers users a globally unique, urban and rural, multi-domain operating environment that is recognized as the Department of Defense’s largest urban training facility serving those who work to defend the homeland.



County Commissioners:

Matt Sporleder, President

Robert Willhite, Vice-President

Shane Boswell


Contact Information

200 East Brown Street
Vernon, Indiana 47282

Commissioners Home | Jennings County Government


North Vernon


Shawn Gerkin, Mayor

City Council

Jack Kelley, District 1

Jarrod Daeger, District 2, At Large

Baron Wilder, District 3

Andrew Klescht, District 4




Contact Information

City of North Vernon
143 E. Walnut Street
North Vernon, In 47265   
Ph: 812.346.3789 
Fax: 812.346.8145

North Vernon-Office of the Mayor

North Vernon-City Council

Town of Vernon


Dr. Wayne Zamora, Mayor

Mary Jo Bender, Clerk Treasurer

Office hours: Tuesday & Thursday
3 PM to 5 PM